All the earth rejoices in God


cantus et musica freiburg
Matthias Maierhofer, Orgel
Raimund Hug

Raimund Hug, former music director of the Freiburg Cathedral, conducts cantus et musica Freiburg in a varied and riveting programme of sacred vocal music from the 20th and 21st Centuries. The result is a powerful demonstration of just how engaging and satisfying contemporary music in the church can be, and represents a personal plea on behalf of the liturgical spirit of the Second Vatican Council.

Release: 01st February 2019

Album Details


CD 1

01 PETER PLANYAVSKY (*1947): Alle Lande, jubelt Gott! (1968)         03:13
Introitus aus dem Deutschen Proprium für den 3. Sonntag nach Ostern
für gemischten Chor und Orgel

02 ROLF LÖFFLER (*1929): Juble, Tochter Zion (1997)    07:38
Adventsmotette für Sopran- und Tenor-Solo und vier gemischte Stimmen a capella
Herrn Domkapellmeister Raimund Hug und seinen Freiburger Domsingknaben gewidmet

03 MATTHEW BROWN (*1978): O magnum mysterium (2014)        03:41
Responsorium 4 der Matutin vom Fest »Geburt des Herrn« für gemischten Chor a capella

04 ALBERT ANGLBERGER (*1942): Psalm 131, Domine non superbit cor meum (1966)          02:48
Psalmmotette für vier gleiche Stimmen a capella

05 HEINRICH KAMINSKI (1886 – 1946): Psalm 130: Aus der Tiefe rufe ich Herr zu dir!      03:15

06 ANTON HEILLER (1923 – 1979): Seele Christi, heilige mich  02:59
Eucharistische Motette für 4 – 5 gemischte Stimmen a capella aus: Kleine geistliche Chöre

07 CHRISTOPHER DAVID WIGGINS (*1956): Laetare Jerusalem (1995)    05:37
Introitus zum 4. Sonntag »Laetare« in der Fastenzeit für 4 – 8 Stimmen a capella
Dem Freiburger Domchor gewidmet

08 AUGUSTIN KUBIZEK (1918 – 2009): Sei stille zu Gott, meine Seele (1967)        01:53
Psalm 62, 2.3 Motette aus: 6 kleine Psalmen-Motetten –
für vier Solostimmen und gemischten Chor a capella

09 ALBERT ANGLBERGER (*1942): Victimae paschali laudes    07:01
Ostersequenz mit Orgelchoral »Jesus Christus unser Heiland«
für Männer- und Frauenschola, [3 Sopran-Solisten], zwei Violinen, Bratschen und Orgel

10 BORIS ROBISCHON (*1971): Te Deum op. 58 (2015)       16:18
Hymnus für Solosopran, gemischten Chor und Orgel
Herrn Dr. Raimund Hug herzlich gewidmet

11 HANS HASELBÖCK (*1928): Toccata serena (1988)         04:45

Total time:         59:14

CD 2

ANTON HEILLER (1923 – 79): Missa in lydisch (1947)
für vier Soli (ad libitum), gemischten Chor und Orgel
Zum Weihnachtsfest
01 Kyrie       04:30
02 Gloria         05:02
03 Sanctus   03:26
04 Benedictus             02:08
05 Agnus Dei          06:56

06 KNUT NYSTEDT (1915 – 2014): Peace I leave with you (1958)        02:23
für 5 – 6 gemischte Stimmen a capella
Friedensgebet nach dem Agnus Dei der Hl. Messe

07 PETER PLANYAVSKY (*1947): Und dann sah ich (1991)     03:31
Motette für 4 gemischte Stimmen a capella

08 AUGUSTINUS FRANZ KROPFREITER (1936 – 2003): Signum (1976)        07:50

Total time:         35:51

P+C 2018 Spektral, LC 15543
Best.-Nr. SRL4-18169
EAN: 4260130381691


cantus et musica freiburg

cantus et musica freiburg was founded in 2006 by Raimund Hug. The group, which consists of 20 to 30 singers and instrumentalists, is devoted to the discovery and mastery of challenging vocal music. They sing the standard literature, but their programs also regularly include unknown gems by forgotten local masters.  Among their contributions in this area are a recording entitled cantiones sacrae, which consists of motets composed by masters associated with the University of Freiburg in the 16th century. For Spektral, they have recorded Sacred Music of the 18th Century from the Augustinian Monastery Choir of Herzogenburg (Lower Austria), Cathedral Music from Constance in the 16th and 17th Centuries, “Resurrexi”: New Choral Music for Lent and Easter, and Freiburg Church Music in the 18th Century.

Matthias Maierhofer

Matthias Maierhofer was born in 1979 in Graz. He studied organ and church music at the Music Universities of Graz, Freiburg, Leipzig, and the Schola Cantorum in Basel. In 2007, Maierhofer was the winner of the Nuremberg Pachelbel Competition, one of the top organ competitions in the world. He was also a prizewinner at the 2008 International Franz Schmidt Organ Competition in Kitzbühel, the 2007 International Bach Competition in Amstadt, the 2006 International Organ Competition in Nijmegen, and the 2003 International M. K. Ciurlionis Organ Competition in Vilnius.
Maierhofer has a busy concert schedule that takes him to the most important festivals of Europe, the United States, Russia, Japan, and South Korea. He appears with ensembles such as the Dresden Kreuzchor, the Thomanerchor in Leipzig, the Dresden Staatskapelle, the Staatskapelle in Halle, and the Pauline Baroque Orchestra. He contributes to CD recordings as well and publications by Edition Helbling. His concerts have been recorded by various radio broadcasters as well as the Ambitus and Ambiente labels.
From 2009 to 2013 Maierhofer taught organ at the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy University of Music and Theatre in Leipzig. In 2013 he was appointed professor of organ and church music at the University of Texas in Austin, USA, where he became a Dean’s Fellow in 2015 and was awarded the Ducloux Fellowship in the College of Fine Arts. In 2016, he was appointed professor of organ at the Freiburg University of Music and was named cathedral organist at the Freiburg minster.

Raimund Hug

Raimund Hug was born in 1935. After completing his studies in theology in Freiburg and Munich, he was ordained as a priest in 1960 and spent several years serving in the ministry. In 1963 he began studying church music, organ performance and choral conducting with Hans Gillesberger, Hans Haselböck and Hans Swarowsky in Vienna, graduating in 1967 with distinction. Further musical studies took place in Innsbruck, Basel, and Mainz, culminating in a Ph. D.
From 1969 to 2008 Hug served as the music director at the Freiburg minster. He founded the Cathedral’s Singing School in 1970, and went on to win several prizes at international choral competitions. He also started the concert series Freiburger Münsterkonzerte. He has made CD recordings and has given many concerts both in Germany and abroad, appearing throughout Europe as well as in Russia, Japan, South Africa, and South America.

Ähnliche Alben